About Us Visa

The Consular jurisdiction of Consulate General of India, Birgunj covers the districts of Parsa, Bara, Rautahat, Sarlahi, Mahottari, Dhanusha, Chitwan and Makwanpur. Accordingly, consular and passport services are provided to the residents of these 8 districts only. Visa Services are not provided by the Consulate. Persons residing in other districts of Nepal as well as those requiring visa should approach Embassy of India in Kathmandu

The working hours for receipt of applications and attending to enquiries about consular services are 0930 – 1230 Hrs. from Monday to Friday. (The Consulate remains closed on Saturdays, Sundays and other official holidays). Details of documents required and fee payable for consular and passport services are given in the Sub Headings below.  With effect from 1 April 2021 an additional service charge NRs. 240/- is levied from the applicants for each consular service.  

In case of any further enquiry, please contact passport counter in the Consulate during working hours (0930-1230 hrs) or phone at 051-532244/64.

Consulate General of India, Birgunj does not issue visas. Visa for visit to India is not required for Nepali citizens. Foreigners of other nationality should apply to Embassy of India, Kathmandu for obtaining visa. Tourist Visa-on-Arrival can be granted to a foreigner who is a national of Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Singapore, Cambodia, Vietnam, Philippines and Laos. The Tourist Visa-on-Arrival will be granted only by the Immigration Officer at designated international airports namely Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata and NOT at any other Immigration Check Post (ICP).